January 18, 2012

  • Stop SOPA!!!

    This is what my posts (and your posts) could look like if SOPA is implemented (a whole lot of black and nothingness). Don’t know what SOPA is? Check it out here! (Highlight the rest of this entry to see what my blog posts could still look like without SOPA.)

     

    There’s been a lot of buzz about the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA). SOPA is basically censorship without due process. If someone thinks that you are possibly pirating an image, video, music, etc., your online life could be shutdown without warning. Search engine companies could be forced to censor the searches that you’re able to do Piracy sucks. We’ve seen some of the effects of it here on Xanga. People get really upset when someone’s posts or pictures get stolen and rightfully so but I’d rather take the routes that we have now (i.e. reporting possible piracy or stealing) than having the craziness that is SOPA. Orwellian in the first degree…

    So what can you do? Email or call your representative. Sign a petition. Make your voice heard. I don’t have a senator because I’m in DC but I have contacted my representative and I’ve signed Google’s petition. Make your voice heard!!!

     

     

     

     

Comments (16)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *