February 18, 2011

  • Liars Gonna Lie

    I’m a pretty savvy person when it comes to telling who is lying or not. I don’t care for liars but it doesn’t bother me when people lie, particular in places such as the internet. Face it, you essentially have a cloak of anonymity if you want it whenever you log on. And I understand that and it doesn’t bother me. I can usually tell who is lying, being truthful or just stretching the truth a bit. And I generally only associate with people that I feel are being real on Xanga.

    If people do lie on the interwebz, I don’t let it bother me. Typically I find lying to be a major cry for help. Many times when there is a screen between us and we’re not really able to help those on the other side. I’m very much a live and let live type of person. Now, if I knew someone was actively hurting themselves or something along those lines, of course I would step in and do what I could to help (and I have before).  But if it’s harmless, why worry our pretty little heads about it?

    In general, the stuff that’s going on right now in the Xanga-sphere is innocuous and therefore it really doesn’t bother me all that much. I just don’t understand why everyone is so up in arms about it…

Comments (11)

  • It’s probably a good reason I don’t hop on Xanga that much these days…

  • Sigh. I guess you caught me.  I didn’t really wear long gloves to the theater.    I never have a clue about the latest Xanga drama and I always stay far, far away from it!

  • I don’t get what the point would be of lying on the internet- if you’re not being real, then none of the friendships you are making are real, either. None of the support means anything. But, like you, I don’t really care, after all, what can I do about it?

  • There is some fakery on Xanga that bothers me, and some sneaky stuff, too. But it’s no different offline. Everywhere I turn people are pretending to be what they are not and gaming the system.

  • Okay, now I’m curious – PM me the link to the drama. =)

  • What are you referring to?  Is there some Xangadrama I should know about?  =D

  • Xanga is a choice and we can always walk away from the blogs that seem to be draining the Xanga world of it’s energy.  Like you it doesn’t fry my cookies.  I just iggy it.

  • I always hear about Xanga drama, but I’ve never actually come across it.  Or maybe I just don’t notice, I’ve been told that I can be oblivious.

  • I’m a little concerned about the fact that a popular blogger around here may be lying about their gender. For some reason that always strikes me as a particularly odd lie to carry out outside of a joke blog or something. 

  • @Redshirte - It’s just dumb drama… ugh.

    @turningreen - Yeah, understandable. I only wear long gloves to the movie theater

    @MrsJenBean - I’ve been on Xanga since 2002 (under a different username back then) and I’ve only ever really been attracted to consorting with the real people of which there are many here there (luckily ).

    @dirtbubble - Yes, it definitely extends to “real life” as well. I just think the internet makes it a lot easier to hide one’s true self.

    @SoullFire - Will do.

    @christao408 - I’ll send you a message…

    @tymedancer - That’s the best that you can do. Also, usually liars want attention.

    @pax_intus - Sometimes being oblivious to something like Xanga drama is truly blissful

    @SoapAndShampoo - Who is lying about their gender? And why would one do that? Like you, I find that a little creepy…

  • I guess I am not in the game enough to what’s up.  –BTB

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *