Month: June 2011

  • On Getting Older…

    May was a hellacious month. June is definitely starting out a little better. I tried to write a couple Xanga entries in between my last one and this one but it felt like all I really had to say was complaining about something. I miss writing, I really do so I’m back for now…

    The Architect’s grandfather passed away last week after a long hospital stay of over 2 months. We knew it was inevitable but it’s never easy. The Architect’s grandmother now needs to move out of her house because she really can’t be there alone. I think losing your independence when you get older has to be one of the most traumatizing things to go through. It’s not like when you’re a little kid and you haven’t yet tasted the freedom and independence of adulthood. At that point in your life, you’ve tasted it and slowly it’s taken away.

    I’ve had getting older on my mind for awhile. I don’t fear turning 26 like I will this year and I don’t fear hitting the 30 and 40 and 50 and 60 milestones. 70, 80, and 90 are a little more scary. I volunteered in a nursing home throughout high school and saw many people who either didn’t have family alive to visit them anymore or their families had simply dumped them in the nursing home and went on with their lives. I just hate the thought of nursing homes… Luckily I have a long time before worrying about that but I just can’t help myself from thinking what might happen.