March 28, 2011

  • Oh Crescent City!

    I got back from my New Orleans trip yesterday morning. All in all it was a great trip with a few high- and low- lights.

    Lowlights:

    - B got her purse stolen the second night we were there. Luckily she had scaled down her bag to go out so only her id, credit card, phone and about $40 in cash got stolen. It sucked but it could have been worse if her whole wallet got stolen.

    - Because her id got stolen, we had to go through a lot with TSA to get her back home yesterday. She got to go through one of the infamous rub… er… pat downs. B told the agent that it was the most action she had gotten the entire trip (maybe this is actually a highlight).

    - We came back to horridly cold weather in DC. The temperature in New Orleans was in the 80s everyday that we were there.

    Highlights:

    - We ate a ton of good food. We had beignets, chicory coffee, po boys, shrimp creole, fried chicken, gumbo, jambalaya, bread pudding and red beans and rice. It was wonderful!

    - We did a lot of shopping. I bought some cool new jewelry for myself!

    - We visited the Garden District. If I had to live New Orleans, I would live in that neighborhood. The houses were so grand and the gardens were gorgeous and so lush, a welcome sight for us as our home is still struggling through the end of winter.

    - We got to ride streetcars! As I’ve said before, I love public transportation so I was very excited about the streetcars. They’re a little bumpy and kind of slow but it was very cool to actually ride on them.

    - I discovered a lot of new music. Not only is there music everywhere in New Orleans, my sisters introduced me to a lot of new music, which is always fun.

    - We took long naps every day we were there. I had missed naps!

    - We had a lot of good nights out on the town.

    - We made a lot of good memories!

Comments (10)

  • Sounds like you had a great time. I’m glad you guys didn’t let the theft get you down.

  • Sounds fantastic – minus the purse snatching.  I agree about the Garden District….gorgeous.

  • Very cool – will you post pics? Sounds like you had a lovely time – minus the purse snatching. Glad you’re back!

  • Other than B gettin her purse stolen, the patdown at the air port, and horrible cold weather when you got home, sounds like you both had a good time.  So very cool that you made memories.  I could not exist without naps.

  • Glad you had such a fine time there. I love New Orleans.

  • New Orleans seems fun!! I keep on wanting to go, but I feel like I would fee bad because they’re still recovering from Katrina and the crazy poverty there, which existed before Katrina. 

  • I’m glad (outside of B getting her purse stolen) that you had a good time!

  • Worked with an ole New Awlins guy who always had a stash of the chicory coffee.  We were always raiding the can!  Hadn’t heard about the Garden District.  Will check it out.  –BTB

  • It’s a shame some thief tried to rain on everyones parade, but at least B scaled down so the damage was minimal. Sounds like the rest of the trip was a lot of fun with great food!

  • Other than the stolen stuff sounds like it went mostly well… if you like that kind of food you should visit here sometime… my wife knows how to cook most of those cajun dishes…. :D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *